window tint law in Pennsylvania

Window Tint Law in Pennsylvania: What You Need To Know?

The window tint law in Pennsylvania is a set of rules and regulations designed to promote the safety of motorists and passengers on Pennsylvania roads. The law is also to reduce the number of traffic accidents and injuries that are happening because of the visibility decreasing happening due to window tinting.” 

The Pennsylvania Window Tint Law prohibits the use of aftermarket window film that reduces light transmittance to less than 50 percent on the front windshield and front passenger side windows. 

The law also requires window tinting film to be free of metal, reflectivity, and color. There are a few exceptions to the Pennsylvania Window Tint Law.

What does VLT Mean according to Pennsylvania State Law?

The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) defines a “Very Large Truck” (VLT) as any truck with three or more axles, or any truck or trailer combination with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of more than eight tons.

The term “VLT” by PennDOT means to classify truck traffic for statistical purposes and to help determine which roads and highways are most suitable for truck traffic. PennDOT uses the term “VLT” in conjunction with other truck classification terminology, such as “Single Unit Truck” (SUT), “Combination Unit Truck” (CUT), and “Tractor Trailer Unit” (TTU).

Pennsylvania Tint Law – Legal Tint Limit For Passenger Vehicles

There is no Pennsylvania state law that specifically addresses window tinting. However, the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation has issued regulations that set standards for window tinting on passenger vehicles. These regulations state that the front windshield can have no more than 50% tint, the front side windows can have no more than 35% tint, and the rear side windows and rear window can have no more than 15% tint. 

There are also a few other restrictions that apply to window tinting in Pennsylvania. For example, window tints cannot be reflective, and they must allow at least 70% of light to pass through. 

If you are pulled over by a police officer for having illegal window tint, you may be issued a citation. The fine for a first offense is $100, and the fine for a second or subsequent offense is $200.

Pennsylvania Tint Law – Legal Tint Limit For Multi-Purpose Vehicles

The Pennsylvania tint law states that the legal tint limit for multi-purpose vehicles is 50%. This means that the front and back windshields, as well as the driver and front passenger side windows, can have a maximum tint of 50%. The rear window can be tinted in any darkness. 

There are a few exceptions to this rule. If the vehicle has factory-installed tinted windows, the legal limit does not apply. If the vehicle is equipped with side mirrors, the driver and front passenger side windows can be tinted to a maximum of 35%. 

The Pennsylvania tint law is strictly enforced. If a police officer pulls over a vehicle with illegal tint, the driver will be issued a citation. The citation will result in a fine, and the driver will be required to have the tint removed from their vehicle.

Other Pennsylvania Window Tint law Rules And Regulations:

In addition to the legal tint limit, there are a few other rules and regulations regarding window tint in Pennsylvania. The film must not be reflective, and the tint can not be applied to the windshield or front side windows in a way that would obstruct the driver’s view. 

There are also restrictions on the color of tint that can be used. Pennsylvania law prohibits the use of red, yellow, or amber tint. The only exception to this rule is if the tint is being used for medical purposes. 

Finally, all window tint must be accompanied by a sticker that indicates the percentage of tint. The sticker must be placed on the lower left corner of the windshield.

Pennsylvania Window Tint Medical Exemption

Pennsylvania law allows for a medical exemption to the window tint limit. If a person has a medical condition that makes them sensitive to light, they can apply for a waiver from the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation. 

To qualify for the exemption, the applicant must submit a letter from a licensed physician detailing the medical condition. The letter must state that the condition is exacerbated by sunlight and that the use of window tint is necessary to alleviate the symptoms. 

If the waiver is approved, the applicant will be issued a sticker to place on their windshield. The sticker will exempt the vehicle from the window tint limit and will allow the tint to be applied to the windshield and front side windows.

How to Get Medical Exemption for Window Tint in Pennsylvania?

To get a medical exemption for window tint in Pennsylvania, the applicant must submit a letter from a licensed physician detailing the medical condition. The letter must state that the condition is exacerbated by sunlight and that the use of window tint is necessary to alleviate the symptoms. 

If the waiver is approved, the applicant will be issued a sticker to place on their windshield. The sticker will exempt the vehicle from the window tint limit and will allow the tint to be applied to the windshield and front side windows.

Pennsylvania Medical Exemption Requirements

To qualify for a medical exemption from the window tint limit in Pennsylvania, the applicant must have a medical condition that makes them sensitive to light. The condition must be exacerbated by sunlight and the use of window tint must be necessary to alleviate the symptoms. 

The applicant must submit a letter from a licensed physician detailing the medical condition to the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation. If the waiver is approved, the applicant will be issued a sticker to place on their windshield.

PA Window Tint Exemption Form

The PA Window Tint Exemption Form can be found on the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation website. As the applicant, you have to complete and submit the form, along with a letter from a licensed physician detailing the medical condition.

Window Tint Reflection – Pennsylvania tint laws

 Pennsylvania tint laws prohibit the use of window tint that is reflective. This means that the tint can not be applied in a way that would cause the windows to reflect light. The only exception to this rule is if the tint is being used for medical purposes.

Legal Tint in PA- Tint Reflection for Sedans

The legal tint limit for sedans in Pennsylvania is 50%. This means that the front and back windshields, as well as the driver and front passenger side windows, can have a maximum tint of 50%. The rear window can be tinted in any darkness. 

There are a few exceptions to this rule. If the vehicle has factory-installed tinted windows, the legal limit does not apply. If the vehicle is equipped with side mirrors, the driver and front passenger side windows can be tinted to a maximum of 35%. 

The Pennsylvania tint law is very strict. If a police officer pulls over a vehicle with illegal tint, the driver will face a citation. The citation will result in a fine, and the driver will be required to have the tint removed from their vehicle.

Legal Tint in PA- Tint reflection for SUV and Vans

Cost of Car Window Tint in Pennsylvania

The cost of car window tint mostly depends on the brand you are using and the amount you require. Other than that the cost of car window tint in Pennsylvania also varies depending on the make and model of the vehicle, as well as the darkness of the tint. The average cost for a basic tint job is $100.

If you need some idea about the cost of window tint based on the brands then read the below article of ours.

How Much Is Car Window Tinting Cost?

Pennsylvania, PA Tint Laws FAQ

Is 5 tint Legal in PA?

No, a 5% tint is not legal in Pennsylvania. The legal limit for tint is 50%. This means that the front and back windshields, as well as the driver and front passenger side windows, can have a maximum tint of 50%. The rear window can be tinted in any darkness.

What is The Darkest Legal Tint in PA?

The darkest legal tint in Pennsylvania is 50%. This means that the front and back windshields, as well as the driver and front passenger side windows, can have a maximum tint of 50%. The rear window can be tinted in any darkness.

Can You Tint Your Windshield in PA?

No, you cannot tint your windshield in Pennsylvania. The only exception to this rule is if the vehicle has factory-installed tinted windows. If the vehicle is equipped with side mirrors, the driver and front passenger side windows can be tinted to a maximum of 35%.

The Bottom Line

Despite the many benefits of window tinting, the window tint law in Pennsylvania has some of the strictest laws in the country. They only allow 50% of light may be to pass through the front windshield. In terms of the front side windows, you must have a minimum light transmission of 35%. The rear window and rear side windows may be tinted to any darkness. While these laws may seem restrictive, they are in place to ensure the safety of all drivers on the road.

Window tinting can significantly reduce the amount of glare and UV rays that enter the car. It can also make it easier to see and reduce the risk of eye damage. Tinted windows also keep the car cooler in the summer, which can help prevent heat-related accidents.

Scroll to Top